November 30 Poem

Angle of Repose

The angle of repose, or critical angle of repose, of a granular material is the steepest angle of descent or dip relative to the horizontal plane to which a material can be piled without slumping. At this angle, the material on the slope face is on the verge of sliding. The angle of repose can range from 0° to 90.

 I’m slumping,

clawing at the earth

as it tilts, and I’m slowly

sliding toward the abyss.

What is my angle of repose?

When I’m not slumping and sliding

the earth stops abruptly and I’m off balance,

like stepping off a merry-go-round,

I’m weaving around like a drunk,

off balance and disoriented.

This life is a slag heap

thrown in my path

blocking my way,

one step up

two back.

 

I’m slumping,

clawing at the slope

as it tilts away and I’m

off balance, sliding

toward the abyss.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

